First Looks, Long Fiction

First Look: Like Water for Chocolate

Like_Water_for_Chocolate_(Book_Cover)

“Earthy, magical, and utterly charming, this tale of family life in turn-of-the-century Mexico became a best-selling phenomenon with its winning blend of poignant romance and bittersweet wit.”

I’ve been wanting to read this book since I discovered the genre of Magical Realism back in 2014, when I first read 100 Years of Solitude. I was so badly disappointed by Practical Magic (the book, not the totally excellent movie version starring my ideal self) last year that I really wanted a good story about kitchen witches and love. I hope Like Water for Chocolate lives up to all the lovely things I’ve heard. (Read my full review here)

1 thought on “First Look: Like Water for Chocolate”

Comments are closed.